top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

The Adventure Continues...

Updated: Sep 6, 2021



Last year, I had the amazing opportunity to dive into the medical ethics of fetal medicine. Though I am still working on the implementation of those projects, I was exposed to a less stereotypically thought of side of medicine: humanity. Through my projects last year and the clinical environment I have found myself in all summer, I am excited to understand more about the human connections and relationships that form in primary care pediatrics. I plan to research further about the foundations of primary care medicine. The clinical experience I acquired this summer- and continue to work in- has given me a first-hand understanding of the importance of patient-healthcare professional relationships.

This week, I will focus on the broad topic of general pediatrics. Although I have researched pediatric surgery last year, I specialized early on- honing in on fetal surgery and fetal medicine. Because most of my exposure to primary care medicine has been active in-person observation and participation, I hope to learn of the philosophies and strategies physicians use to create connections with patients and their families through research and interviews. Because of the position I hold at my place of employment as a student medical assistant, I am hopeful of the opportunity to reach out and create opportunities for myself that will aid my ISM journey!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page