top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

Quarantined


The last couple of weeks have been a bit all over the place, to say the least. At the beginning of last week, my mother tested positive for COVID. We have since been quarantining as a family. I did not contract the illness, but spent the time caring for my family members and remaining in family isolation to protect my peers and work colleagues.

Though some might view it differently from the outside, the experience added more perspective to my studies. Although I have had extensive experience conversing and counseling families after a COVID diagnosis, such an intimate and active role in a situation I often advised on provided more insight. I hope to take what I've learned and experienced to better understand and approach topics within my clinical practice. Being in similar shoes to those I counseled allowed me the opportunity to understand other worries or concerns I can be more prepared to address in the future.

With that being said, the time away required me to step away from my research for a period of time. I am working to getting back on track: completing my display board of last semester's work, drafting my product proposal for this semester, and analyzing articles for further exploration.

I am beyond excited to get back on track, approach things with a fresh mind, and build on the understandings I've developed over the past few weeks!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page