top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

Back from Break


I am officially back in classes! Last week was spring break and all classes were out. However, I was out the week prior because of my mothers surgery. The last couple of weeks have been challenging. I had hoped that the week off would allow me time to catch up on work and recuperate. While that was the plan in theory, last week was still heavily occupied by caring for my mother post surgery.

Because this is her second surgery this school year, I had planned my time off so I could care for her and other work. However, this surgery left my mother more immobile and required me to spend multiple days and nights in the hospital - caring for my mother and managing conversations with doctors.

While it is going to be challenging to catch up on sleep, manage my mother's recovery, and stay caught up on my work, I am intrigued by the perspective this has provided. During my mother's last surgery, she was managing most of the hospital visit herself. However, this time, I was there through it all managing communication and staying in tune with my mother's needs. Being the makeshift liaison in all interactions while balancing other aspects of life (my brother at home, medications, doctor's communications, etc.) has provided me more insight and understanding to the experiences of families in healthcare interactions.

I am excited at the prospects this experience has exposed me to.

I am looking forward to getting back on track in both my personal and professional life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page