top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

Next Stop: Fetoscopic Approaches


In the past few days, I dove deeper into understanding the outcomes of the Management of Myelomeningocele Study (MOMS) trial. As I already read the initial reports and research, there were many further inquiries in subsequent articles that discussed more recent findings stemming from the original study. It was insightful and has stimulated many questions I hope to ask this week in my meeting. While researching this week, I saw the MOMS2 study. The research article was electronically published in a medical journal earlier this year, and it may take some time to receive access to it. Because I believe it holds valuable information and would be vital for my understanding as well as the development of my report, I plan to pursue it in my research.

The week allowed me to digest the information from the research article and further outline my ideas for my original work. Although I learned much about the developments in the treatment of spina bifida, there were still some questions left unanswered: How does anesthesia affect the fetus during fetal procedures? What is the fetoscopic approach for myelomeningocele? Since fetal surgery for the condition is relatively new, how has fetoscopic treatment developed? Is the less invasive procedure more favorable? Because I spent much of the last few weeks focused on open-fetal surgery and postnatal treatment of spina bifida, I look forward to diving into the fetoscopic methods in the following weeks. All in all, last week was a success, and I am thrilled for my meeting tomorrow as well as the knowledge I may gain through research in the following days.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page