top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

Focus

Last week evoked much self-reflection and internal contemplation. The creation of a topic proposal, allowed me to dive deeper into why I chose to study pediatric surgery this year. Reflecting on the reasons for my interest, rejuvenated my excitement and added to my desire to learn more. I am actively corresponding with a few professionals who I feel may be open to taking some of their valuable time to speak to me. Because of my recent research of a few of the many conditions treated with pediatric surgery, I have been considering focusing on one specific disorder. Currently, I am debating which condition to dive deeper into this week. I have been drawn towards omphalocele and gastroschisis, however I am still deciding where to focus my research. There are many questions I want to learn the answers to: What is surgically done to treat the condition? What are the steps the surgeon takes throughout the procedure? What are possible complications? Do the complications have relationships that could be discussed- have they been discussed? How are patient recovery rates and how does that correlate to complications and other conditions of the patient?

In the following days, I look forward to answering these questions and focusing on a chosen condition. I am confident that it will aid me in my original work proposal. Currently, I plan to research- in depth- the surgical steps, tools and procedural aspects of a specific condition for my original work. I am excited to move forward and dive deeper into pediatric surgery- and more specifically the surgical treatment of a certain condition.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page