top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

And on to Ethics



In the past week, I had the opportunity to dive into the world of medical ethics. In weeks prior, I spent time researching clinical studies. However, last week, I decided to shift gears and read about what ethical considerations I- personally- overlooked during my own evaluation and gathering of ideas. To say it was eye-opening would be an understatement. There were many things, including the ethical implications of medical advancements and technology, that I had never even considered. In all, it opened a new door and path for thought I had not previously gone down.

This week, I plan to do more research on ethics. Last week, while delving deeper into my sources, I came across a piece discussing the evolution and history of fetal surgery. I plan to read through and understand the piece this week. Because of the importance of ethics, advocacy, and morals in all medical fields- especially fetal surgery- I believe this will significantly aid in the progression of my project. Learning of fetal surgery’s developments and the processes of establishing ethical practices will aid- not only- in my overall understanding but contribute to my thoughts and mindset as I read more about ethics to contribute to my original work project. I plan to also answer a few questions: How are ethical concerns and discrepancies overlooked for the progression and evolution of science? Because ethics can be so subjective, how are regulations, guidelines, and rules made- who decides these? What is to ensure they are the right balance- rigid yet somewhat flexible for the overall good? Are ethics analyzed on an overall case-by-case system? I look forward to reading more about fetal surgery and answering these questions in the following weeks.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page