top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

A Whole New World


The last week was overall nerve wrecking and ultimately rewarding. We partook in the business symposium that allowed me to get some experience talking to professionals. It was a blessing to be able to bounce ideas off of those who have real world experience in the professional world. Additionally, I got the opportunity to speak with a seasoned professional with expertise who was truly excited about pediatric surgery and guided me to sources that will be vital to my understanding of fetal surgery. After my correspondence with the doctor, I looked into the MOMS trials I was directed towards. It gave me tremendous insight on the different outcomes of fetal and postnatal surgery.

Not only was last week an enormous stepping stone for my professional confidence, but it allowed me to grow in my understanding of pediatric surgery and the research process for the treatment of congenital diseases. The introduction of specific sources used within the pediatric surgical community directed me towards the most useful information that addressed many of my specific questions and areas of interest. I learned of completely new ideas such as NAFTNet and was directed towards the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia who does clinical research on conditions such as spina bifida. I still have a few questions: What are the specific criteria for mothers and babies must meet to be candidates for fetal surgery? Why do those who undergo fetal surgery generally have better motor skills despite more severe levels of lesions? What are the specific surgical techniques (suturing, excisions, etc.) and steps that the surgeon does during these procedures? In general, I am ecstatic for what is ahead and what I may learn in the following weeks.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page