top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUnum Shamim

A Week of Hard Work and Reflection


In the past few weeks, I have been able to focus greatly on the development of my ideas as well as the understanding of more specific research sources to contribute to my work. I dove into the evolution of fetal surgery to unfold the key factors- for, both, ethics and clinical research- considered throughout the past and continuing development of the field. I also read a paper focusing on the ethics of fetal surgery in general. Both these pieces contribute to my exposure to the many aspects and viewpoints pertaining to this field within medicine. I understand there is still much for me to learn and that my personal thought process may not consider all the important parts and pieces of the complex, evolving field. I plan to continue to grow and expand my understanding, and I believe that one of the most important parts of doing so includes educating myself and using my resources to expand and reach for knowledge and personal progress.

Last week, I also had the opportunity to speak with my wonderful mentor. The conversation we had was completely eye-opening and got the wheels in my head turning even more- if that was even possible. There is no doubt: my mentor’s expertise and guidance have been invaluable. After bouncing my ideas off of her, the path seems far more clear. In the following week, I plan to continue to research more ethical aspects related to fetal surgery but also explore the accessibility and availability of fetal treatments based on health, socio-economic status, and many other factors. This will give me much needed perspectives as I work through my original work. I am excited for the week ahead and cannot wait to continue my journey and grow.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page